On Sunday, the thirtieth day of 2011, my neighbour told me the beach was quiet, which surprised me and I soon realised he’d been speaking comparatively. When I got there It was only crowded, as opposed to the freaking circus that it was on Australia Day. Later, Power Plant was a nice way to finish off the Sydney Festival.
Meanwhile in South Korea, five Somali pirates arrived in Busan to stand trial; in Manhattan left wing academic Frances Fox Piven spoke of receiving death threats as the result of Glenn Beck’s hate campaign; and in a desperate search for some non-upsetting news for a change, I found a report of a flying car – I’m sorry, I mean “Transition Roadable Aircraft” – except it runs on fossil fuels. So… I’ll be more excited when they develop the electric version.

Photo by Matthew Andrews